This page is available in multiple languages
Select Language

L’Oréal-UNESCO For Women In Science – For Women in Science 2019 Awards


20191122 l'Oreal

The For Women in Science 2019 Award winners Sandra Khor Manickam (Erasmus University Rotterdam) and Lisa Becking (Wageningen University) received a prestigious fellowship during the 8th edition of the event on 21 November 2019. On this occasion, For Women in Science will open trading at Beursplein 5.

For Women in Science is an initiative from L’Oréal, Unesco, the Dutch Network of Women Professors (LNVH), the Netherlands Institute for Advanced Study (NIAS) and the Royal Holland Society of Sciences and Humanities (KHMW) to support women in science.          

Each year, the Dutch For Women in Science Fellowship Program hands-out two fellowships of up to €25,000 to women scientists.         

In addition, this year the Rising Talent Award was presented for the first time to young women scientists at the start of their career. This Rising Talent prize of €3,500 was handed-out to Jorinde van de Vis, promising researcher at Nikhef/DESY.

The participation of women in scientific research is essential for economic, social and cultural development. Nowadays, women achieve the highest academic level; nevertheless, they are still under-represented. Only 29% of researchers worldwide is female, and in the Netherlands just 21% of university professors is female.

For more information: