Euronext Brussels - New Year's reception

Ce mardi 16 janvier 2018, plus de 600 invités se sont rassemblés à l’occasion de notre traditionnelle New Year’s Ceremony qui s’est tenue au SQUARE à Bruxelles. Le ministre des Finances, Johan Van Overtveldt, a ouvert l’événement en expliquant que la Belgique avait besoin de renforcer son esprit entrepreneurial. Ce fut également l’occasion pour le ministre de présenter ses nouvelles initiatives en faveur des scale-ups ainsi que d’autres avantages fiscaux visant à favoriser la croissance des entreprises. Il a conclu en faisant remarquer que la Belgique atteignait aujourd’hui une limite absolue en termes de taxation du capital.  

Le discours du ministre fut suivi d’un débat centré sur les besoins en financement des scale-ups ; celui-ci fut animé par des représentants du secteur bancaire et de jeunes entrepreneurs. Tous les panelistes s’accordèrent sur le fait que la Belgique avait des atouts importants en terme d’entrepreneuriat mais que ses acteurs restaient trop humbles. Alors que les banques expliquaient leurs actions de soutien aux scale-ups afin que ces dernières  puissent croître à un niveau international tout en préservant leur racines belges/européennes, certains panelistes ont émis le besoin d’un changement d’état d’esprit : la prise de risque devrait être davantage récompensée. Le développement fulgurant de la biotechnologie en Belgique devrait servir d’exemple pour d’autres secteurs. 

Vincent Van Dessel, CEO d’Euronext Brussels, a ensuite fait l’état des lieux des événements marquants de l’année 2017 et présenta les principaux projets d’Euronext pour l’année à venir. Il a rappelé que Bruxelles ne se trouvait qu’à la 57ème place dans les classements des centres financiers, a mis en perspective les initiatives prises par la Belgique, la France et les Pays-Bas afin d’améliorer leur attractivité auprès des investisseurs et a insisté sur la nécessité d’un régime fiscal stable dans notre pays.

Le vice-premier ministre Alexander De Croo a souligné l’importance de l’entreprenariat dans l’économie et la difficulté pour les entreprises de recruter les bons profils. Pour lui, la bourse ne doit pas être perçue comme une source de revenus pour le gouvernement mais comme un lieu de rencontre entre investisseurs et entreprises à la recherche de financement. 

Télécharger des photos de Euronext Brussels - New Year's reception

 
Débat centré sur
les besoins en financement
des scale-ups 

 

 
Discours du
ministre des Finances,
Johan Van Overtveldt


 
  

Euronext Brussels Awards 2017

Euronext Brussels Awards 2017 - Winners

L’événement s’est clôturé avec la traditionnelle cérémonie des awards récompensant nos membres et entreprises cotées les plus performants puis par un cocktail dinatoire.

Cette année, les gagnants des awards sont : 

BEL 20 Company of the year

Umicore

BEL Mid Company of the year

argenx

BEL Small Company of the year

Deceuninck

Equity Finance House of the year

KBC Securities

Bond Finance House of the year

Belfius

Cash Market Brokerage House of the year

Morgan Stanley International

Cash Market Belgian Brokerage House of the year

KBC Securities

Cash Market SME Liquidity Provider of the year

Bank Degroof Petercam

Derivatives Market House of the year

Susquehanna International Securities

Nous tenons également à remercier nos partenaires pour le succès de cet événement. 

Sponsors Euronext Brussels - New Year's reception

Euronext Brussels - New Year's reception

On Tuesday 16 January 2018, more than 600 guests joined us for our traditional New Year’s Ceremony at SQUARE Brussels. The evening started with a keynote speech by the Minister of Finance, Johan Van Overtveldt. He pointed out that Belgium needs to strengthen its entrepreneurial spirit. He took this opportunity to announce new initiatives to support scale-ups, such as fiscal incentives specifically aimed at growth companies. He also stated that Belgium now reached the absolute limit of taxation on capital.

His speech was followed by a panel discussion on the financing needs of scale-ups, with representatives from the banking sector and young entrepreneurs. All panelists agreed on the fact that Belgium has strong capacities in terms of entrepreneurship but still remains too humble. While banks explained how they are helping scale-ups grow globally while preserving their Belgian/European roots, some panelists called for a change of mindset: we need to properly reward risk. The successful development of a world-class biotech franchise in Belgium could serve as an example for other sectors.

Euronext Brussels CEO Vincent Van Dessel then came back on the most significant events of 2017 and outlined the Euronext projects for 2018. He reminded that Brussels was only  57th in the latest ranking of financial centers, compared the initiatives taken by Belgium, France and the Netherlands to improve their attractiveness towards investors and insisted on the need for a stable fiscal regime in Belgium. Download presentation Vincent van Dessel, CEO Euronext Brussels

Before the awards ceremony, Deputy Prime Minister Alexander De Croo highlighted the importance of entrepreneurship in the economy, the difficulty to recruit the right talents and the fact that the stock exchange shouldn’t be seen as a source of revenue for the government but as a place where investors meet companies looking for funding.

Download photos Euronext Brussels - New Year's reception

 
Panel discussion on
the financing needs of
scale-ups

 

 
Keynote speech by the
Minister of Finance,
Johan Van Overtveldt


 
  

Euronext Brussels Awards 2017

Euronext Brussels Awards 2017 - WinnersWe ended the ceremony with our traditional awards, rewarding our best performing members and listed companies. This year’s winners are:

BEL 20 Company of the year

Umicore

BEL Mid Company of the year

argenx

BEL Small Company of the year

Deceuninck

Equity Finance House of the year

KBC Securities

Bond Finance House of the year

Belfius

Cash Market Brokerage House of the year

Morgan Stanley International

Cash Market Belgian Brokerage House of the year

KBC Securities

Cash Market SME Liquidity Provider of the year

Bank Degroof Petercam

Derivatives Market House of the year

Susquehanna International Securities

Finally, we would like to thank our partners for the success of this event

Sponsors Euronext Brussels - New Year's reception